Review: AC/DC Live @ Madison Square Garden November 13, 2008

AC/DC’s decision to destroy Madison Square Garden was most likely made to honor their sold-out crowd of loyal rock ‘n roll fanatics. The legends blasted through their radio hits “Back in Black,” “You Shook Me All Night Long,” and “Highway To Hell,” and blazed through new cuts “Anything Goes” and “War Machine,” making last night’s rock show a grand celebration.

The pre-set video of a cartoon Angus Young riding a locomotive to it’s doom was one of the show’s highlights. Following the video, the set began with a powerful version of the single, “Rock ‘n Roll Train” [see video below]. The fans found the new material very pleasing, responding with unending fist pumping and head banging.

Brian Johnson and Angus Young are still in great shape—constantly running the area (length x width) of the jumbo stage for the full 1 hour 40 minutes. Malcolm Young, Phil Rudd, and Cliff Williams continue to make up one of the tightest rhythm sections in rock music.

There is not much left to say—AC/DC has mastered the formula for delivering an amazing rock show. The bell (“Hells Bells”), the strip tease (“The Jack”), and the canons (“For Those About To Rock”) make this an absolute must-see tour that will surely fill you up with rock ‘n roll bliss.


Rock n Roll Train
Hell Ain’t a Bad Place To be
Back In Black
Big Jack
Dirty deeds done dirt cheap
Black Ice
The Jack
Hells Bells
Shoot to thrill
War Machine
Anything Goes
You Shook Me all night long
Whole lotta Rosie
Let There Be Rock

Highway To Hell
For Those About To Rock


1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Announced: AC/DC “Black Ice” 2009 Summer Tour Dates « GEARS OF ROCK

Leave a Reply