Review: Megadeth – Endgame [2009]

Amazon MegadethIt has been almost two and a half years since the release of United Abominations, a brutal allegory of destructive world events equipped with plenty of finger pointing to rattle your mama’s nerves. Needless to say, Dave Mustaine and company are back with an even thrashier and, once again, unapologetic lyrical effort on Endgame.

The guitars of Mustaine and Chris Broderick prove to be the best work since Rust in Peace and arguably the most compatible in Megadeth’s history.

Tracks such as “How The Story Ends” and “Head Crusher” unleash the classic headbanging euphoria that cannot be mistaken for any other group.

“Bodies” and “The Right To Go Insane” showcase the eruptive low end bass of James LoMenzo. This album’s flow is flawless. Endgame opens with a powerful instrumental titled “Dialectic Chaos” that clocks in at 2:25 of unadulterated thrash that never seems to let up.

The acoustic driven “The Hardest Part of Letting Go” refreshingly breaks up the speed later without altering the album’s spirit. The only awkward moments on the disc fall somewhere between the transition into the guitar solo of the title track (3:45) and the subsequent relentless Bush bashing which is now old news in this day and age.

Overall Endgame excels in all of the core areas of heavy music marking it another fine moment in thrash metal history –Meds

4.5 StarsMegadeth is Dave Mustaine (Vocals/Guitars), Chris Broderick (Guitars), James LoMenzo (Bass), & Shawn Drover (Drums).

Track Listing:

  1. “Dialectic Chaos”
  2. “This Day We Fight!”
  3. “44 Minutes”
  4. “1,320′”
  5. “Bite The Hand”
  6. “Bodies”
  7. “Endgame”
  8. “The Hardest Part of Letting Go…Sealed With a Kiss”
  9. “Head Crusher”
  10. “How The Story Ends”
  11. “The Right to Go Insane”

1 Comment

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Track Review: Megadeth “Head Crusher” Endgame [2009] « GEARS OF ROCK – Hard Rock & Heavy Metal Music Reviews
  2. Review: Slayer – World Painted Blood [2009] « GEARS OF ROCK – Hard Rock & Heavy Metal Music Reviews

Leave a Reply