Review: Overkill – Ironbound [2010]

Legendary New Jersey metal mavens, Overkill, deliver an astonishing 15th studio album Ironbound, a delectable thrash frenzy that will kick your teeth through your ass.

Overkill is solid, far too underrated, and always unfairly riding in the shadow of East Coast thrash colleagues Anthrax. Ironbound is a 10-track blitzkrieg that displays not only the fury, but greater depth than 90% of all thrash and power metal acts out there today.

Everything from the lyrics, riffs, leads, and grooves, to the use of dual channels, sick changes, and the brutal double-bass-work recreates a refreshing Golden Age of Thrash experience.

Lead singer Bobby Blitz is such an impressive talent, no one lives and breathes metal like this guy. After suffering a stroke in 2002 during a live performance, Blitz battled back with his strong will, determination, and humorous approach to life in general—a real role model for the younger bands and metal fans.

In a nutshell, Ironbound is everything that you could want from a thrash record in 1983 and 2010.

Overkill is Bobby Blitz Ellsworth (Vocals), David Linsk (Lead Guitar), Derek Tailer (Rhythm Guitar), D.D. Verni (Bass), & Ron Lipnicki (Drums).

Track Listing:

  1. “The Green and Black”
  2. “Ironbound”
  3. “Bring Me the Night”
  4. “The Goal Is Your Soul”
  5. “Give a Little”
  6. “Endless War”
  7. “The Head and Heart”
  8. “In Vain”
  9. “Killing for a Living”
  10. “The S.R.C.”



  1. The way you complimented this legendary band… I could not have said it any better myself. Very cool review! There will never be another Thrash band like Overkill.


2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Top Ten Albums of 2010 [Mid-Year Edition] « GEARS OF ROCK – Hard Rock & Heavy Metal Music Reviews
  2. Top 10 Albums of 2010 | Gears of Rock

Leave a Reply