Review: Coheed And Cambria – Year of the Black Rainbow [2010]

Coheed and Cambria, the greatest alt-progressive hard rock act of all-time, return with another intricate powerhouse on Year of the Black Rainbow.  Claudio Sanchez and company deliver an eternal kingdom of melody, serving up a glorious and insightful introduction to the band’s Sci-Fi series, which has come to be known as The Amory Wars.

Black Rainbow prominently features impressive rhythmic patterns, striking lead guitars, and tantalizing lyrical melodies.  Together the ingredients form a vicious concoction of heavy ear candy, without the bleeding.

Coheed is one of the few bands capable of saving mainstream hard rock from the one-dimensional Nickelbacks and Linkin Parks that have dominated mainstream charts for the last ten years.  Unfortunately, the band’s geeky image as well as the wrongful and unfair Emo labeling will continue to hinder such a takeover.

Year of the Black Rainbow is an A+ musical effort that goes unmatched by 99% of the rock albums released these days.  Album highlights include the single “Here We Are Juggernaut,” “In The Flame of Error,” “World of Lines,” “This Shattered Symphony,” and “The Broken.”

Coheed and Cambria are Claudio Sanchez (Vocals/Guitars), Travis Stever (Guitars), Michael Todd (Bass), & Chris Pennie (Drums).

Track Listing:

  1. “One”
  2. “The Broken”
  3. “Guns of Summer”
  4. “Here We Are Juggernaut”
  5. “Far”
  6. “This Shattered Symphony”
  7. “World of Lines”
  8. “Made Out of Nothing (All That I Am)”
  9. “Pearl of the Stars”
  10. “In the Flame of Error”
  11. “When Skeletons Live”
  12. “The Black Rainbow”


1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Top Ten Albums of 2010 [Mid-Year Edition] « GEARS OF ROCK – Hard Rock & Heavy Metal Music Reviews

Leave a Reply