Review: Soulfly – Omen [2010]

The Brazilian god of doom brings the shit on Soulfly’s latest righteous masterpiece, Omen.  Max Cavalera’s guerrilla army of guitar hero Marc Rizzo, bassist Bobby Burns, drummer Joe Nunez, and producer Logan Mader (ex-Machine Head/ex-Soulfly guitarist) attacks mercilessly with 11 brutal cuts of earth pounding grooves and virtuosic riffs.

Omen’s energy is relentless from the opening assault of “Bloodbath & Beyond” to the closing spiritual instrumental onslaught of “Soulfly VII” Everything in between is fierce and aggressive, and includes dashes of tribalism that never ceases to devastate (“Rise of the Fallen featuring Greg Puciato”).

Rizzo’s leads on “Great Depression,” “Lethal Injection (featuring Tommy Victor),” “Mega-Doom,” and “Off With Their Heads” are flat-out sick, advanced, demented, and spine chilling.  Rizzo also employs a flamenco feel in the end of “Vulture Culture,” and melodic solos on “Jeffrey Dahmer” and “Counter Sabotage,” a thrashy gem.

The verdict here is obvious: Cavalera has dropped another huge atomic hit on Omen.

Soulfly is Max Cavalera (Vox/Guitar), Mark Rizzo (Guitar), Bobby Burns (Bass), & Joe Nunez (Drums).

Track Listing:

  1. “Bloodbath & Beyond”
  2. “Rise of the Fallen”
  3. “Great Depression”
  4. “Lethal Injection”
  5. “Kingdom”
  6. “Jeffrey Dahmer”
  7. “Off with their Heads”
  8. “Vulture Culture”
  9. “Mega-Doom”
  10. “Counter Sabotage”
  11. “Soulfly VII”


1 Comment

  1. Man I Love this album. Soulfly have never failed to impress me!.

    I would have to say The Great depression and Rise Of the Fallen are my Favs!

    this album has got a very raw sound to it. Sorta like a bad recording but not. If that makes any sense.

    Soulfly have never Fallen. They Just continue to Rise. \m/ \m/

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Top Ten Albums of 2010 [Mid-Year Edition] « GEARS OF ROCK – Hard Rock & Heavy Metal Music Reviews

Leave a Reply