Nza’s Review: Kid Rock – Born Free [2010]

I cant believe it but Born Free is Kid Rock’s eighth studio album. Well, not that I’ve been keeping count. The stone cold pimp of the nation is back and has definitely matured as an artist.

He seems like a different man is on this album. It’s a long way from the “I am the Bullgod” days, when Kid Rock albums were a sweet mix of hip-hop, southern rock, and country. Born Free leans more toward the southern rock with little or no hip-hop involved.

The title track reminds me of some feelgood Bob Seger. Reuniting with Sheryl Crow on “Collide,” the bitter-suite country ballad is really beautiful with a nice piano track layed down by Bob Seger.

Tapping into some Southern Harmony Black Crowes, Kid Rock testifies he indeed will “Slow My Roll.” “God Bless Saturday” sounds like 38 Special meshed with some Lynyrd Skynyrd and it works really well.

The only hip-hop really present is a guest appearance by T.I., who provides a smooth rap interlude, on “Care.” “For The First Time (In a Long Time)” is very different because Kid Rock’s voice is virtually unrecognizable. This intriguing tune is worthy of a listen.

Born Free was produced by Rick Rubin and it is another solid production. I will tell you it does not have the out-of-the-park hit that Kid Rock has relied on in the past. Kid Rock is a survivor and I feel he will be around for a little while longer. If you haven’t caught his live show, you should. You will only gain respect for him because he brings it every time. -Nza

Track Listing:

  1. Born Free
  2. Slow My Roll
  3. Care (feat Martina McBride & TI)
  4. Purple Sky
  5. When It Rains
  6. God Bless Saturday
  7. Collide (feat Sheryl Crow and Bob Seger)
  8. Flyin’ High (feat Zac Brown)
  9. Times Like These
  10. Rock On
  11. Rock Bottom Blues
  12. For The First Time ( In a Long Time)
  13. Care (Demo)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply