Monthly Archives: March 2013

Alice in Chains “The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here” Track Listing and Streaming Single

On May 28, Alice in Chains will release “The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here,” the follow up to 2009’s “Black Gives Way To Blue.”  Here is the album artwork and complete track listing:

“The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here” Cover Art

1. “The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here”
2. “Pretty Done”
3. “Stone”
4. “Voices”
5. “Hollow”
6. “Lab Monkey”
7. “Low Ceiling”
8. “Breath on a Window”
9. “Scalpel”
10. “The Phantom Limb”
11. “Hung on a Hook”
12. “Choke”

Here is the first single and music video “Hollow”:

100 Guitar Riffs Video Serves Up A Rock N Roll History Lesson

Here is an excellent rock ‘n’ roll history lesson given by some dude from the Chicago Music Exchange all on the guitar. Alex Chadwick performs 100 riffs in near-chronological order in about 12 minutes. He plays a Strat instead of a Gibson, but I won’t hold that against him.

My only gripe with the selection is that he plays “Welcome to the Jungle” and “Sweet Child O’ Mine” (two Guns N’ Roses tracks back-to-back) before playing Motley Crue’s “Girls, Girls, Girls.” Appetite for Destruction was released on July 21, 1987 and Girls, Girls, Girls was released on May 15, 1987. Duh, everybody knows that. Other than that, it’s a fantastic interpretation of rock music history.

Anthrax “Anthems” EP Review – Some Tracks Are Awesome, Some Suck

Finally gave the new Anthrax covers EP a listen and I think this may be the real reason why Rob Caggiano left the band (#lol #jk). To be honest, none of the songs flat-out suck; however, there are several weaknesses.

Anthems has a few great renditions of classic hard rock songs such as Rush’s “Anthem” and Boston’s “Smokin’.” In fact, those performances are borderline brilliant in some respects. But the “Big Eyes” (Cheap Trick) — sounds like Joey Belladonna is singing “I keep falling for those big guys” —- and “Jailbreak” (Thin Lizzy) covers are just OK, and the “TNT” (AC/DC) cover is “meh.” In my opinion, AC/DC is one of those bands that should never be covered on tape. Live performances are alright, but studio renditions? No thank you.

I respect the band for covering Journey’s “Keep on Runnin'” because Journey is better and heavier than people credit them. Belladonna wails on it.

Anthems contains some fun tracks, but certainly not a solid successor to the band’s surprise resurgence on Worship Music. To this day, my favorite Anthrax cover is “Sabbath, Bloody Sabbath” from I’m the Man EP – one of the first albums that sucked me into heavy metal.

Anthrax “Anthems” EP Cover Art

Track Listing:

1. “Anthem” (Rush cover)
2. “T.N.T.” (AC/DC cover)
3. “Smokin'” (Boston cover)
4. “Keep On Runnin'” (Journey cover)
5. “Big Eyes” (Cheap Trick cover)
6. “Jailbreak” (Thin Lizzy cover)
7. “Crawl” (album version)
8. “Crawl” (Orc mix)

“Map of Metal” Website Features Comprehensive Tour of Heavy Metal Genres

Here is a pretty cool site that features a map of heavy metal – it’s called “Map of Metal” – that includes explanations and examples of all the different sub-genres. Like Dante Alighieri in hell, you can travel to every major movement in heavy metal history.

As you tour the metal map, you can listen to several landmark tracks in each location. For example, in the Thrash section you get Metallica’s “Seek and Destroy” and in Neo-Classical you’ll find Yngwie Malmsteen.

Black Metal is broken down into a plethora of sub-sub-genres such as Greek Black Metal, Depressive, and the Second Wave of Black Metal. It’s a fascinating journey and site to stroll around. Check it out at

New Sevendust “Black Out The Sun” Full Album Stream

Sevendust is still around releasing solid albums. Their music goes virtually unheard on rock radio, but that doesn’t stop this band. Listen to their new album Black Out The Sun in its entirety now here. See artwork and track listing below.

Black Out The Sun (Cover Artwork)

1. “Memory”
2. “Faithless”
3. “Till Death”
4. “Mountain”
5. “Cold as War”
6. “Black Out the Sun”
7. “Nobody Wants It”
8. “Dead Roses”
9. “Decay”
10. “Dark AM”
11. “Picture Perfect”
12. “Got a Feeling”
13. “Murder Bar”

New Orange Goblin Live Album a Couple Weeks Away

Upcoming Orange Goblin live album sounds pretty good…just saying. On March 13, A Eulogy for the Fans will be released to, well, the fans (derp). The CD sounds raw and heavy. Here are some of the details concerning the live recording from Bloodstock:

A Eulogy For the Fans-Orange Goblin Live 2012 features songs that span the band’s extensive repertoire including fan favorites “Stand For Something,” “Scorpionica,” “Quincy the Pigboy,” “Blue Snow,” “Time Travelling Blues,” and the album’s single “The Filthy & The Few” which is set to impact loud rock radio on February 26.

ORANGE GOBLIN is vocalist Ben Ward, guitarist Joe Hoare, bassist Martyn Millard, and drummer Chris Turner

Track Listing
1. Red Tide Rising
2. The Filthy & The Few
3. Ballad of Solomon Eagle
4. Time Travelling Blues
5. Some You Win, Some You Lose
6. The Fog
7. Round Up The Horses
8. Acid Trial
9. They Come Back
10. Blue Snow
11. Quincy The Pigboy
12. Scorpionica