Nza’s Review: Chesty Malone slays from beyond the grave on hellacious new album, “We’re Still Dead”

Chesty Malone and the Slice ‘Em Ups have returned—well, sorta. Their latest album is called We’re Still Dead, but these undead cats definitely have a pulse. Opening with the beautiful horrific anthem “Destroy All Humans,” CMTSEUs tap into some vintage thrash a la Slay-thrax. “Slay To Kill (Kill to Slay)” grabs you by the throat and does not let go. Thank Satan the song is only 1:43 because you need to catch your breath after that scuffle-duster!

“El Matador” surprisingly has horns present with chants that turn into a nice little thrashy number. The opening of the tune screams old-school B-movie where a showdown is about to happen; like a knife fight at the O.K. Corral?

The album’s first single “I Look Like Hell” stomps and shreds flesh. Jaqueline Blownaparte’s menacing growl accompanied with the rapid fire lyrics of the verses drive the song. Anthony Van Hoek serves up some fine guitar work on this one too. This one Reminds me of Metallica’s “Whiplash” at moments. Chris Moore and Uruk Brutal provide a perfect drum-bass backbone to the Doc Maarten stomp-fest of “Midnight Madhouse.”

Chesty Malone has been terrorizing the scene since 2006 and this is their best material to date. I thoroughly enjoyed the album but to be honest with you their live show is where it is at! They are currently spooking crowds as we speak supporting the We’re Still Dead. Catch them if you can—you won’t regret it, or will ya? -NzaSixx

4 Pentagrams

We’re Still Dead Track List:

  1. Destroy All Humans
  2. HSH
  3. Slay To Kill (Kill To Slay)
  4. We’re Still Dead
  5. El Matador
  6. Fun Things To Do During Robberies
  7. I Look Like Hell
  8. Gorilla Girl from Outta Space
  9. Midnight Madhouse
  10. Show ‘Em The Snake

Chesty Malone and the Slice ‘Em Ups are:

Jaqueline Blownaparte – Vocals
Anthony Van Hoek – Guitar
Uruk Brutal – Bass
Chris OP Moore – Drums

Tour dates and more at

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply