Review: Corrosion of Conformity – No Cross No Crown

Finally, COC has come back to kick some serious ass! No Cross No Crown is the band’s first studio album with frontman and guitarist Pepper Keenan since 2005’s In the Arms of God, and it’s amazing.

Keenan’s voice rips on the face-pummeling opener, “The Luddite.” Awesome heavy drumming from Reed Mullin and lead guitar trills really make this one stand out.

The first single “Cast the First Stone” has seen more action in my Spotify rotation than any other song over the last month. Great lead guitar harmonies by Woody Weatherman and Keenan. Classic COC – Wiseblood-esque. Love it! Everyone loves it. You have to.

“Wolf Named Crow” also sports a Wiseblood feel that’s paired with punishing Black Sabbath riffage, yet you can dance to this bitch too. Another track that follows this perfect formula is “E.L.M.”

If you are yearning for more of a Deliverance feel (and who isn’t?) then “Little Man” is your boy. The grooves during the instrumental are fantastic, “Albatross” style. Bassist Mike Dean is the man.

The headbanger “Forgive Me” and ballad “Nothing Left to Say” help round out the complete COC album experience.

One of the greatest things about Corrosion of Conformity is that they make complete albums. You can tell the band puts in a lot of thought into the track listing and presentation. Instrumental tracks like “Novus Deus” and “Sacred Isolation” help move the story along.

It is safe to say that No Cross No Crown will be a contender for best album of 2018.

4.5 Stars

Track Listing:

1. Novus Deus
2. The Luddite
3. Cast The First Stone
4. No Cross
5. Wolf Named Crow
6. Little Man
7. Matre’s Diem
8. Forgive Me
9. Nothing Left To Say
10. Sacred Isolation
11. Old Disaster
12. E.L.M.
13. No Cross No Crown
14. A Quest To Believe (A Call To The Void)
15. Son And Daughter

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply